2020-2021 Fowler Fellows

Jiahui Lu is a fourth year Biochemistry, Molecular and Structural Biology (BMSB) graduate student in Dr. David Eisenberg’s group. As an undergraduate at UC Davis, Jiahui worked on biochemical and structural studies of proteins involved in Tuberculosis assimilation pathways, and received her B.S. degree in the summer of 2017.

Jiahui’s graduate research studies the ribonucleoprotein heterogeneous nuclear ribonucleoprotein A2 (hnRNPA2). It functions in RNA metabolism and is associated with cellular membraneless organelles. The low-complexity domain (LCD) of hnRNPA2 can liquid-liquid phase separate and form a hydrogel in vitro where fibril networks are found. Cellular stress and mutations can lead to fibril formation and thus neurodegenerative diseases such as Multisystem Proteinopathy (MSP). Jiahui applies biochemical and structural studies, using cryo-electron microscopy and crystallography, to understand how the reversible, functional fibrils formed by the LCD of hnRNPA2 can convert to pathogenic fibrils, leading to neurodegenerative diseases.

Calina Glynn (Callie) is a fifth year Biochemistry, Molecular and Structural Biology (BMSB) student in Dr. Jose Rodriguez’s group. Prior to coming to UCLA in 2016, Callie received her B.A. in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology from Boston University, where she studied Fe-S cluster binding proteins with Dr. Deborah Perlstein.

Callie’s graduate work focuses on uncovering the structures of prion fibrils that bestow them with unique biophysical properties. Prion diseases arise via the self-templated misfolding of the soluble prion protein into pathogenic protease, denaturant, and heat resistant prion fibrils (PrPSc). Callie has uncovered the structure of a protease and denaturant-resistant human prion fibril that explains the unique biophysical properties characteristic of PrPSc using cryo-electron microscopy. Callie aims to uncover differences in the favored fold, stability, and seeding ability of fibrils from disease-associated variants of the human prion protein and other mammalian prion proteins whose aggregation leads to disease.


Janine Fu is a fourth year Biochemistry, Molecular, and Structural Biology (BMSB) student in Dr. Joseph Loo’s group. She received her B.S. in Biochemistry at UCLA and worked in Dr. Robert Clubb’s lab, studying the molecular basis of Gram-positive bacterial surface display machinery using structural and biochemical techniques.

Janine’s graduate research focuses on proteomics and understanding the role post-translational modifications play in bacterial systems. Protein acylation, which is known to affect enzymatic activity, can occur spontaneously from elevated metabolite intermediates and modification levels fluctuate with metabolic flux. Her research studies how protein acylation can act as a mechanism of metabolic regulation. Janine utilizes mass spectrometry to investigate the proteomes of different cellular metabolic states and to characterize their protein acylation profiles. Her work also aims to understand the regulation of these modifications and their physiological effects.


Previous Fowler Fellows

2019          David Boyer (Eisenberg lab), John Muroski (Loo lab), Orlando Martinez (Clubb lab)
2018          Michael Hughes (Eisenberg lab), Kanishk Jain (Clarke lab), William Barshop (Wohlschlegel lab), Yuxi Liu (Yeates lab)
2017          Brendan Amer (Clubb lab), Jeffrey Vinokur (Bowie lab), Anna Sahakyan (Plath lab)
2016          Henry Chan (Feigon lab), Smriti Sangwan (Eisenberg lab), Nicholas Woodall (Bowie lab)
2014          Dan McNamara (Yeates lab), Jena Quick-Cleveland (Guo lab), Nicholas Wu (Sun lab)
2013          Alex Jacobitz (Clubb lab), Alexander Patananan (S. Clarke lab), Carly Ferguson (Loo lab)
2012          Benjamin Kuryan (Carey lab), Letian Xie (C. Clarke lab), Anni Zhao (Eisenberg lab)
2011          Timothy Anderson (Clubb lab), Ian Barr (Guo lab), Soohong Kim (Weiss lab)
2010          Zeynep Durer (Reiser lab), Rachel Senturia (Guo lab), Zurita-Lopez (S. Clarke lab)
2009          Luki Goldschmidt (Eisenberg lab), Kristofer Webb (S. Clarke lab), Sheng Yin (Loo lab)
2008          Nathan Joh (Bowie lab), Neil King (Yeates lab)